EN | FR | RU

Telephone:+7 495 669 99 44

Fax:+7 916 715 27 18




Six Paralympians in Tokyo 2020 Athletes’ Commission

SixParalympiansInTokyo2020Six Paralympic athletes have become members of the Tokyo 2020 Athletes’ Commission in a bid to bring crucial insight from their respective domains of expertise to the organising committee of the Olympic and Paralympic Games.

The athletes’ commission, made up of 21 leading figures of the Japanese sporting community, will assist as preparations are made to host a Games that will satisfy the athletes, media, Olympic Family, spectators and all other stakeholders.

Swimmer Junichi Kawai, a medallist at the Barcelona 1992, Atlanta 1996, Sydney 2000, Athens 2004 and Beijing 2008 Paralympic Games, will serve as Vice Chair to Daichi Suzuki, a gold medallist at the Seoul 1998 Olympic Games.

Other Paralympians joining him on the commission are Shinpei Oikawa (wheelchair basketball), Masae Komiya (goalball), Aki Taguchi (shooting), Wakako Tsuchida (athletics) and Hirose Takayuki (boccia).

Speaking at a press conference after the Executive Board meeting, Tokyo 2020 President Yoshiro Mori said: “I have attended the Youth Olympic Games in Nanjing, which gave me the opportunity to renew old friendships with several people from all over the world who are actively involved in the global sporting community.

“And every one of them told me how excited they were and the great expectations they have for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

“To ensure that we are able to fulfil these expectations, we will further strengthen our “All-Japan” team, made up of representatives from a broad cross-section of Japanese society, and accelerate our preparations for the successful delivery of the Games.”

The commission’s inaugural meeting will take place on 10 October, with the Games Foundation Plan to be submitted to the International Olympic Committee in February 2015.

For more information, visit the Tokyo 2020 website.

Source: http://www.paralympic.org/

Events calendar 2018